This week I have been planning and conducting my primary research as well as reflecting on what I already know or learned from my secondary research.

Research plan

Project definition

My project is all about exploring emotions through sound and visual design. This project will specifically explore World War One, convey the experiences of soldiers in the trenches using a combination of soundscapes and concept art. The purpose of this work would be to communicate the atmosphere of a campaign level for a video game. I am interested in this project because from what I have seen and researched there aren’t many World War One games or concept art pieces similar to this and I would like to experiment with the results of combining art and sound to create meaning.

text2mindmap.jpg

After looking at what I have learned it appear that I will need to do more research into locations and actual history.

 

Research methods and activities.

For my research, I will be using a combination of exploratory and conclusive research involving experimentation, focus groups, secondary research and case studies.

I will be experimenting with both sound and visuals working on a different way to recreate sounds and design scenes that convey a meaning or emotion. In addition to this, I will be doing an analysis of similar products and products that match up to different aspects of my project.

Experiment 1

Experimenting with different objects to try and recreate sounds such as explosions, gunshots and movement.

Experiment 2

Experimentation with digital painting techniques. In order to feather understand what I will be doing with my art.

Experiment 3

A focus group about wartime poems asking what colours, shapes and adjectives they think of whilst reading it. I

Research Task Results

Sound Experiments

I have been experimenting with sound creation and editing in an attempt to create the various sounds found on a battlefield. This proved to be harder than anticipated resulting in some interesting results.

Below are the original copies of each sound I recorded and what they were made by.

Explosion: these are all part of the explosion.

Concussion

All of my recordings for the conclusion of my explosion was recorded using my voice. I used a technique called close micing where you move very close to the mic and use popping letters like D’s and P’s to create different sounds.

Shockwave

All of the shockwaves recorded were done using the same close micing technique.
Gunshot

My gun shot sounds were an experiment to see if an old film camera could create the click and snap needed to create an effective gun shot with editing.
Tank track and horse tack

For the tank track, I used the same band and just manipulated it in different ways to create the two sounds. For the tank I rolled the band in my plans like a calliper track would and the horse track I shook it to create veining speeds of horse moving.

World War 1 Poetry Focus group

For one of my research tasks, I have decided to do a focus group where I asked people to describe three poems using colour, adjectives and shapes.

P138 Aeroplanes

Metal, Square, rust, quite, busy, harsh, bright, air, cruel, morals, height, dark, mature, round, white, red, black, playful, arrogance, sadistic, peace, hope, yellow, blue, red, danger, fall, destruction, death, power, injustice, cries, tears, family, Bone, Piston, Bright, Ragged, Silence, Battle green, grey, jagged, sharp, vortex, caravans of despair.

P120 The General

Unjust, dark, mud, contrasts, proper, smoke, war, grey, linear, irony, dank, sludge, dangers, red, death, green, weak, alone, time, corruption, pain, Red-faced, grey-brown, blooded, pear-shaped, bloomer and blocked.

P45 Good-Bye old man

 

Bright, sad, happy, rainbow, countryside, peaceful, orange, yellow, contrast, green fields, sorrow, loss, light, stark, journey, past, Green, blue, yellow, purple, steel grey, spiral, gangly, joyous, open, wind, breezy, solace, scream, violence, noise, cacophony, chaos, madness, despair, sorrow and elegiac.

This focus group served to outline colours shapes and adjectives people felt when they read the three World War one poems. This will help me in deciding style, colour pallet and location.
Interpreting the Data

From my research, I have come to the conclusion that I will have to dig deeper into my subject so that I can accurately recreate sounds and more art styles that compliment the colours and shapes identified in the focus group.

Future research

In future research, I will be exploring more about composure, lighting and colours within an image and how they all work together and help to convey meaning and feeling. In addition to this, I will continue researching into WW1 locations and sounds to try and create believable soundscapes

.

