Pixel Art – Character concepts

I was tasked this week with design pixel art versions of are main characters and some of the bad guys they will face. For this I had to research and find some reference photos. I used my mood boards to guide me on what kind of look I was going for.

reference pictures


I started off the process of designing my characters by first using the reference image and drawing the design on graph paper so that is was easy to remove any mistakes and I could have a paper copy.

 

After drawing out my characters I scanned in the pitcher and used that along with the reference image again to digitally recreate the character. To start off recreating the character is created a basic outline that I then filled in with a neutral color.

From here i started to work in a new lay to put in the basic block colors so that i could see where everything was going to go. Once this was done i started shading and adding more detail to the character. I also added different items such as Jewry and staffs. I finished each of them off with a background that allowed them to stand out more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Retro game sounds

For homework last week I was given the task to watch and read two sources on retro game sounds. Using what I leaned I had written a report about the different developments, limitations and solutions that sound designers faced in the 16 bit era.
There was lots of experimenting and developing going on in the 16 bit era of games. Companies were trying to make bigger and more realistic games with better sound and video. One of a major developments that came out was the use of microprocessors to divert the job of sound to rather than have the main processor do all the work. Another development was the use of multiple wave types in one voice channel giving the impression of multiple channels. This also went along with the use of sample tracks and later on the development of the MIDI format.

Even with all of this going on there was still limitations on what sounds could do. For example up until MIDI came out most game sounds where expressive rather than interpretive and sounded similar but not exactly the same as the real life sounds. Some of the other limitations were that you still had limited voices and limited power resulting the choice between more sound and bad image or good image and less sound.

To deal with these problems sound designers had to get creative with what they made. Most opted for doing the multiple waves per voice method but there were a few who went down the route of using sample sounds to create dynamic and interesting sound scape that were semi realistic.

Sources for the article:

A History of Video Game Music

Staff, G. (2005). A History of Video Game Music. [online] GameSpot. Available at: http://www.gamespot.com/articles/a-history-of-video-game-music/1100-6092391/ [Accessed 30 Dec. 2016].

How old-school Sound/Music Worked

YouTube. (2015). How Oldschool Sound/Music worked. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_3d1x2VPxk [Accessed 30 Dec. 2017].

